Swearing at the Stoplight

Yesterday, while simultaneously driving and talking to my father on the phone, a car in front of me ran a red light causing me to get stuck in the middle of an intersection during 5 O’clock traffic. Impulsively, and without hesitation, I honked the horn loudly and said a curse word I won’t repeat so early on in this blog post. Realizing what I had done, I quickly apologized to my dad, declaring I had forgotten, for that quick moment, that he was even on the phone (Enter my dad’s judging silence here).

Five minutes later, we were discussing an unrelated incident that had happened earlier that week at my workplace. To ensure that my dad understood the strong emotion I was trying to convey, I dropped the “F” bomb. Well, kind of. I actually just spelled it out. Nonetheless, my father was far from impressed. My father, before I could even finish my sentence, said “Keri, Why do you have such a foul mouth?” I said, I don’t know, Daddy (Yes, I still call my father Daddy, especially in a moment such as this, in which I desperately needed him to remember I am still his sweet, innocent baby girl). “Well, why not?” I inquisitively asked. “Because it isn’t good for your soul,” he said a matter of fact.

End of conversation.

As I drove the rest of the way home, my thoughts wandered off, and I wondered why I DO in fact swear so frequently. “Bad for my soul??” I repeated aloud. What was my father talking about? It is the opposite of that. In fact, this swearing sh** is actually really good for my soul, isn’t it?

Later, I was left wondering how harmful my language actually is. What’s the purpose to allow such foul language to escape my pretty little mouth? Here is the honest answer. I feel an overwhelming sense of release when I say a curse word here and there, and I feel empowered to speak my truth at all times whether or not it includes the “F-bomb.” However, years of training to be a schoolteacher have conditioned me to censor my language when necessary. You certainly won’t hear me swearing in front of my students, or children in general for that matter. I won’t be using such words while guiding my yoga students through their early morning practice, or in front of my grandmother, or when I attend church, or a job interview, or especially when I meet my boyfriend’s parents for the first time. In fact, at the age of 31, I have just recently started using “profanity” in front of my own parents.

All that being said, I am a huge fan of swearing.

Huge.

Here is where I am going with this… the words you use carry great meaning and can have a profound effect on the people around you. When I speak, I strive to speak openly and honestly. I choose my words carefully and with intention. I would like to tell my dad, that my soul is quite perfect the way it is, cursing and all. You see, I may be small, but I have BIG things to do in this life and I have a spirit that is wild and crazy with desire to change the world one “F-bomb” at a time. So, the moral of the story is to always be intentional with your words and use them kindly. Actually, the world could use some extra kindness these days, and that kindness starts with you. So, don’t be mistaken in thinking that just because I often color my vernacular with words as shit, damn, or ass, it certainly doesn’t change how big my heart is, how much time and energy I give to those around me, and how much I love and adore my friends and family.

Most importantly, if you hear me swear, please don’t take offense. Dad, that includes you. To put it simply, I just have a very creative and fucking awesome vocabulary… all for a very good reason.

Lots of love,

Me

IMG_9854

Leave a Reply

