Planting Seeds.

IMG_7531

When you plant sunflowers, like I did in June, they grow. Crazy concept, I know…

“If you plant them…. they will grow.”

Growth, however, only happens assuming the seeds have been implanted in fertile soil, in a place where exposure to sunlight is readily available, enough water is provided, and protection from severe weather and predators is maintained. Where I live, my sunflowers’ biggest threat is the local elk whose favorite afternoon snack happen to consist of all items growing in my garden. I suppose it could be worse and the elk could be trying to eat Ruby instead. Now, what I have noticed about my wonderful sunflowers is that the more attention I give these glorious green plants, the faster they grow, the taller they become, and the prouder I feel about my prized beauties. You see, our mind is similar to my small garden. As I plant positive seeds of thought in my mind and focus my attention on all the blessings this life has to offer, those seeds grow and prosper and cultivate only good and radiant things in my mind, body, and spirit.

“Our thoughts become our words, our words become our beliefs, our beliefs become our actions, our actions become our habits and our habits become our realities.” –You are a Badass -Jen Sincero

The developing stages of a sunflower or Helianthus Annuus are the following: After your seed is planted, there is the vegetative emergence stage during which the seedling has emerged and the first leaf has become visible. The vegetation stages continue until finally begins the reproductive stages. Throughout those reproductive stages, the immature bud begins to form and eventually flowering can begin. Finally, you have a full grown, healthy, and beautiful sunflower. (http://www.sunflowernsa.com/growers/growth-stages/) From the moment the sunflower seed is planted, rapid changes begin because after all, change is the one thing in this life that is constant.

This particular week has brought a lot of change to my life and with such transitions; worry, question, frustration, and anxiety have come along for the ride.

Only negative seeds being planted here…

This week, doors are opening and closing quicker than I can blink, and I am beginning to feel like I got trapped in a quick moving and unsuspecting monsoon that has rudely interrupted my perfect vacation in paradise. However, although it feels as if I have been blindsided, I am realizing that I had actually planted seeds of thought weeks ago. Over the last couple of months, I have allowed myself to entertain ideas such as failure, self-doubt, anger, resentment, and loneliness. The small pitiful seeds have unfortunately begun to sprout and it is now that I am realizing the profound affect it is having on my day-to-day life. Work has become more stressful, small things once impossible to upset me now infuriate me easily, and although laughter still comes frequently, it is rarely effortless.

Today, I pledge that I stop tending to those seeds I’ve planted and instead, focus on only planting seeds of growth and opportunity, of truth and kindness, of patience and trust, and most importantly, of love. I have a choice: Fear or Love. I choose love over fear #everydamnday.

Shame on me for forgetting the strong desire (and awesome ability) I have to continuously be the best possible version of myself.

I may not be sure of which direction to go from here, or what exact advice I am trying to offer you by writing all of this. However, what I do know is this; sometimes when faced with great change and (and what feels like) great adversity, the only thing you can do is start your garden over and plant a different seed. Plant a positive seed that you intend to water and nourish and give abundant attention to, because whatever seeds of thought you plant in your mind will continue to flourish and thus create your current reality. Don’t ever underestimate the power of thought.

So, “Is what you are thinking about right now what you want to create in your life today?” -Paula Langguth Ryan

The Evergreen mountain air has a chill in it tonight, as I know Fall is already planning its grand arrival. Perhaps it is time I cut stalks from outside IMG_7528and place them in a vase on the counter-top from where they are openly visible. The transitory nature of my sunflowers remind that although change is inevitable, the choice of how I approach all situations is always mine, and I have an abundance of positive, self-loving, ambitious, beautiful, radiant and amazing seeds that are ready to be planted.sunflower_photograph_autumn_floral_fall_yellow_bokeh_sage_home_decor__18ce12e3

 

Leave a Reply

